top of page

The Den

I really wish I owned a mansion (don't we all) so that I could incorporate my ideas in my own home. Imagine walking into a room engulfed with the smell of leather and warmth. It would be the perfect getaway after a long day of work to enjoy some scotch (I have never had scotch but I could imagine someone drinking it here) and enriching your mind with a novel cooped up by a fire.

Following is my design : The Den

1. Stunning Leather

I absolutely love walking into a room and being embraced by the

smell of leather. To create a warm and cozy feeling that a den typically has, I incorporated a leather sofa, over-sized chair and ottoman made by Omnia leather. Omnia's merchandise is made in America with 100% top grain leather- it is on the pricier side, but you get top-notch material.

The sofas incorporate cross wires for support and balance and high resilient polyurethane foam. The BEST thing about leather is how it ages. Do you have a bomber jacket from high school that you have saved for years that just looks fantastic now that it's aged? That's the best thing about leather- it will continue to look excellent and age with you over time.

2. "Floorwork" VS. Artwork

Not only should a room have artwork on the walls, but almost every room should have some gorgeous artwork on the floor as well (when I say artwork- I mean a rug). I found this gorgeous area rug that has browns, blacks, and strikes of orange in it. It really had the warmth I was looking for in the room. In addition, find some enchanting artwork for the walls that coordinate with the colors in the area rug.

3. Industrial

To keep up with the warmth of the room, I found some wooden end tables and bookcase to throw in the room. I not only wanted the end tables to be wooden, but I wanted them to have some industrial features as well. The tables have a rustic honey finish on reclaimed wood and both have an iron base. I also added a wooden square bookcase for knickknacks and photos.

4. Accessories

My favorite part of any room are the accessories. In a room that is filled with all of these warm eccentric features, I can't just add any ordinary touches. I found vases with a metallic acid washed finish to keep the industrial vibe going. I also added several plants for earthly tones as well.

 

All materials in this design are from Steinhafels Furniture Store.

Website: www.steinhafels.com


bottom of page