top of page

Nothing but Mod

Retro, modern themes are my forte, so my inspiration for this design are a given. I love finding retro and fun features to portray in a room and I couldn't help myself to put together my idea for this fun creative dining room set!

In this design, I will be featuring products that can be custom ordered through Canadel Dining from Canada and a few other features from Steinhafels furniture.

1. Custom Dining Table Set and Chairs

This dining room table set is a custom piece that I designed through Canadel's UDesign website! I fell in love with their "Downtown" themed items and created a 40"x60" rectangular table with a Peppercorn Washed matte finish. I accented the table with custom designed chairs with a lime green (fabric TJ) fabric to bring some color to the room. 

2. Add a Buffet

Adding a buffet table or sideboard to your dining room area is very beneficial and adds additional space when you're serving meals. Imagine Thanksgiving dinner at your home and having your drinks and desserts being displayed right in front of your guests! Canadel also provides a way to custom design your own buffet to add to your dining set located on their website. I created my own side table by adding the same leg style as the dining table and accenting the top with a cream frosted glass (Frosted Glass WB) with a matte finish. 

3. Light up Your Dining

Finding the perfect chandelier for your dining room is crucial when hosting dining parties. At Steinhafels, they recently started featuring their own chandeliers on their website. So I decided that this Brattleboro Chandelier with four individual lights gave the perfect modern and industrial appearance for this dining room. 

4. Add Some Comfort

Adding a creative and funky rug into the dining room will help keep the room cozy and warm. In some cases, adding a rug in the dining room isn't ideal, but for this design, I thought 'Why not!' This rug was also found at Steinhafels and it has a classic traditional style. The rug tied the room together perfectly because of the hints of green, yellow and grey-so it matched my color scheme perfectly! 

5. Throw Some Shade

A good way to keep the color scheme flowing (no pun intended) throughout the room is to add some curtains. I really wanted to find some curtains with the same or almost exact color as the striking chairs I designed for the dining set. I found these at Terrys Fabrics! They are woven with a back coating but they still let a perfect amount of light through without being blackout curtains. 

6. It's All in the Details

My favorite part of decorating is adding all those beautiful creative details into the room to complete it. For this dining room, I would add a large hanging clock above the buffet. This Roman Wall Clock was found at Steinhafels in their array of gorgeous clocks. It's made with wrought iron and has a dark charcoal grey silver edging. On top of the buffet, I would add some greens, plants to be exact! I found this Lily Grass Long Planter (also from Steinhafels) to bring a sense of nature to the room. Last, but not least, I would add a unique, stylish vase to finish off the room. This Silver Rectangle Vase has a contemporary look with a silver ceramic design. 

 

 I have attached hyperlinks to all images to bring you directly to where I found them. Enjoy!


bottom of page