top of page

Modern Living

Imagine walking into your dream home...everything you have ever dreamed of wanting when you walk through your front door. That's what I want to strive to deliver to my clients as an interior designer.

I recently have just had this inspiring "dream home" moment. I stumbled into this gorgeous flat in Libertyville, Illinois during an open house about a month ago. When I entered the spectacular one bedroom, one bathroom, over 1,000 square foot apartment, I knew this was the home I have always wanted. A dark grey and white designer Quartz kitchen, hardwood floors, rain shower and seated windows engulfed the floor-plan. I. Was. Mesmerized.

Due to my love of design, I have taken and dedicated a lot of time into how I would love the main living space to look. I am going for a modern chic color scheme, where I'll be incorporating yellows and blues to go along with the grey and white Quartz kitchen.

In the living room, I found a two piece chaise sectional from Steinhafels that I will accent with a faux fur pillow and yellow and grey accent pillow from Target. I also included several decorations from IKEA in my design, such as a yellow and a grey vase and a blue ottoman tray. This design is both functional and artistic because it corresponds with the color scheme in the kitchen. I attached all of my ideas on the mood board below.

Now, since the living room and kitchen are combined, I wanted to incorporate a desk area near the kitchen as well. It is easy to combine different uses of one large room and still keep to your color scheme and style.

Below I attached another mood board with a ladder desk from Wayfair. I found a simple desk chair with wooden pegs and matching bar stools for the kitchen. I did this so the colors are flowing and matching. I found the desk chair from Target and the bar-stools from IKEA. The work-lamp, clock, and succulent plant were also found at IKEA.

I am really looking forward to bringing my design to life in November once we move into our own little piece of paradise. All websites are listed below for the pieces I attached to this article.

 

Steinhafels.com

IKEA.com

Wayfair.com

Target.com


bottom of page